ESR STM Workshop

The discovery of Scanning Tunneling Microscope (STM) Electron Spin Resonance (ESR) is opening new venues in surface quantum nanoscience. This workshop will bring together experts in this emerging area to present latest developments and discuss future work.

Key Info

WHO: Participation only by invitation (see the list of attendees bellow)

WHAT: 4 days of in depth discussion and conversation in a relaxed, engaging atmosphere

WHERE: Paço d’Anha* for the majority of the meetings, an afternoon at INL

*The venue is tentative at the moment
** Best airports to use are Porto and Vigo

WHY: Inspire the field and explore possibilities together

WHEN: April 20-23, 2021
There will be a welcome dinner on April 19th. Lodging begins on the 19th and ends on the 23rd. If you want to stay the nite of the 23rd or extend longer in either direction we will check availability for you at Paço d’Anha.

COST PER PERSON: 202 euros (includes shared lodging and breakfast) + possible van rental to get to INL. We will be cooking together and will share the costs on site.


International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory:
Joaquin Fernandez Rossier

Center for Quantum Nanoscience:
Andreas Heinrich
Michelle Randall

List of Confirmed Attendees

  • Christian Ast (Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany)
  • Markus Ternes (Institute of Physics II B, RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Yujeong Bae (Center for Quantum Nanoscience, Seoul, South Korea)
  • Susanne Baumann (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Harald Brune (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Jay Gupta (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Christoph Wolf (Center for Quantum Nanoscience, Seoul, South Korea)
  • Fernando Delgado (Departamento de F ́ısica, Universidad de La Laguna, Spain)
  • Alejandro Ferron (Instituto de Modelado e Innovación Tecnológica, Argentina)
  • Arzhang Ardavan (Departament of Physics, Oxford University, United Kingdom)
  • Sebastian Loth (Institute for Functional Materials and Quantum Technology, University of Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Pietro Gambardella (Department of Materials, ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Sebastian Stepanow (Department of Materials, ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Wonjun Jang (Center for Quantum Nanoscience, Seoul, South Korea)
  • Sander Otte (Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Deungjang Choi (Centro De Fisica De Materiales, Spain)
  • Philip Willke (Center for Quantum Nanoscience, Seoul, South Korea)
  • Nico Lorente (Centro De Fisica De Materiales, Spain)
  • Pedro Ribeiro (CeFEMA, Universidade de Lisboa,Portugal)
  • Fabian Natterer (Physik-Institut, University of Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Shichao Yan (School of Physical Science and Technology, ShanghaiTech University, China)


Registration required by February 14, 2021